Chitral Today
Latest Updates and Breaking News

NA-1 Chitral: three ex-lawmakers, 20 others file nominations

BOONI: Two former MNAs, one ex-MPA and 20 others have filed nomination papers for the National Assembly seat (NA-1) of Chitral.

According to the list available with ChitralToday, the aspirants for the NA seat include former MNAs Shahzada Iftikharuddin of the PML-N, Molana Abdul Akbar of Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) and ex-MPA and provincial minister Saleem Khan.

Shahzada Iftikhar, Kalkatak Drosh, remained MNA from 2013 to 2018 and was elected on the ticket of All Pakistan Muslim League of former military ruler Gen Pervez Musharraf. 

Abdul Akbar from Broze was elected twice to the National Assembly on MMA ticket, in 2002 and then in 2018. 

Saleem Khan from Kandujal Garam Chashma was elected to the provincial assembly twice on PPP ticket and remained minister for population welfare. He has also filed nomination papers for PK-2 this time.

The other candidates who have filed nomination papers are as follow: 

Sultan Muhammad, Arandu, Rehmat Ghazi, Charun, Muhammad Sharif Khan, Beshgram, Karimabad; Syed Farid Ahmed Jan, Sweer village, Razitu Billah, Kuru, Drosh; Abdul Latif, Nichagh, Oweer, Taqdira Ajmal, Bumburate; Khadija Bibi, Drosh.

Alam Zeb, Goldur Chitral, Shahzada Khalid Pervez, Serdur Kalkatak; Muhammad Javed Khan, Chinar, Mastuj; Syeda Maimoona Shah, Riri, Oweer; Fazal Rehman, Krui Junali, Booni; Muhammad Talha Mehmood, Khanpur district Haripur; Faiz Muhammad Maqsood, Seen village, Muhammad Qasim bin Talha, Haripur; Qari Jamal Abdul Nasir, Drosh, Asadur Rehman, Kosht; Fazle Rabbi, Gologh Denin, and Mukhtar Nabi, Terich Payeen.

It may be mentioned here that 40 candidates have filed nomination papers for the provincial assembly seat of PK-1 Upper Chitral and 28 candidates for PK-2 Lower Chitral.

As per the schedule, scrutiny of the nomination papers started in Monday and will continue till 30th of this month.

Appeals against the acceptance or rejection of nomination papers can be submitted until the 3rd of January and decisions on these appeals will be made by the 10th of January.

The list of candidates will be displayed on the 11th of January, and candidates would have the option to withdraw until the 12th of January.

The electoral symbols will be allotted on the 13th of January, and polling for the general elections will be held the 8th of February.

You might also like

Leave a comment

error: Content is protected!!