Karachi Kings wins PSL final after beating Qalandars

Karachi Kings wins PSL final after beating Qalandars

Karachi Kings on Tuesday night were crowned the 2020 Pakistan Super League winners after beating Lahore Qalandars by five wickets, their first-ever title of Pakistan’s premier Twenty20 tournament.

One of the world’s leading batsmen, Babar Azam knocked a commanding half-century to help his side win their first championship in five years at Karachi National Stadium.

Azam smashed seven boundaries in his 49-ball 63, but it was skipper Imad Wasim who hit the winning boundary to help the Kings overhaul a modest 135-run target in 18.4 overs.

The Kings will take home a glittering trophy plus a $500,000 purse, while Lahore received $200,000.

The Kings began their innings on a high note, with openers Babar Azam and Sharjeel Khan both hitting two boundaries each in the first two overs.

Qalandars had their first breakthrough in the fourth over, however, with Sharjeel (13 off 12) getting caught splendidly by Fakhar Zaman off Samit Patel’s first ball.

Babar (53 off 42) and Chadwick Walton then piled on runs as the Kings reached 110-2 in 15 overs.

Imad Wasim hit a stylish four to end Kings’ innings at 135-5 and lift their maiden PSL trophy.

Lahore Qalandars, who opted to bat first after winning the toss, earlier finished at 134-7 in the showdown against Karachi Kings.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *